The number of people who are at risk of serious health problems due to being overweight is increasing. What is the reason for the growth in overweight people in society? How can this problem be solved?

The number of citizens suffering from severe health issues owing to obesity has been rising. This essay will examine several factors attributed to the phenomenon and propose some ultimate solutions to address the problem.

There are two key reasons explaining the increasing population with critical health conditions in light of weight gain. Frequent intake of fast food is the first reason exacerbating health issues among consumers, especially the young generation. This is because junk food often contains a high amount of fat, which will increase cholesterol in the blood among consumers. Thus, people might gain weight uncontrollably, leading to obesity and other health issues. Additionally, a sedentary lifestyle has resulted in an exponential growth of obese people. These days, people, especially the young generation, are under great pressure of shouldering a financial burden to sustain their lives. As a result, they have to focus predominantly on work without spending enough time doing exercise, which might make them gain weight easily.

Nonetheless, the government can impose heavy taxes on junk food to prevent people from daily consumption of unhealthy foods. This can be explained by the fact that people are more inclined to ponder purchasing overcharged items to save money for other necessities. Thus, the policy could adjust people’s consumption habits in an effort to prevent them from contracting severe illnesses stemming from obesity. Another solution that might take effect is to raise people’s awareness of doing exercise. If people entirely grasp the paramount importance of regular activities such as hitting the gym or walking, they will opt for a daily sport to stay fit. Consequently, the prospect of being overweight and being hospitalized for medical treatment will be lower.

In conclusion, there are various reasons leading to the increase in the number of citizens with critical health conditions resulting from obesity; however, a lack of frequent exercise and the intake of fast food are more common among the young generation. Nonetheless, the problem can be alleviated by governments’ efforts to impose higher tax rates and educational programmes.