The declining population of many plants and animal species has raised global concerns during the past several years. Several scientific studies have proven that anthropogenic factors such as deforestation, pollution, and global warming are primary factors behind the rapidly falling population of these species.

Since the dawn of the twentieth century, humans have exploited natural resources for economic progress. Huge swathes of trees have been cleared to construct cities, collect raw material for various industries, and build factories and dams. Such large scale residential and commercial projects have not only led to the elimination of several animal and plant species but also a reduction in the population of many others such as the Tiger and Rhinoceros.

Moreover, air, water, and land pollution caused by human activities have led to a reduction in the number of house sparrows that were a common sight a few years ago. Also, global warming has led to an increase in the Earth’s temperature at a few places and fall at other places. Consequently, animals such as the polar bear and snow leopard are endangered species on the verge of extinction.

Protecting and preserving animal and plant species requires close coordination of individuals, institutions, private companies, and governments. While government policy and programs for reducing deforestation, promoting afforestation, and regulating vehicular pollution are important, companies also need to act environmentally responsible by following green practices. Individuals also should abandon any activity that has a high carbon footprint.

In conclusion, if animal and plant species are not preserved, it will lead to ecological imbalance and make earth unsustainable. Acting responsibly, we all need to unite and protect animals and plant species for our future generation.