The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that government must strengthen the punishments on driving offenses to reduce road accidents. In my point of view, I think the merits outweight the demerits for two reasons.

To start with, citizens are less likely to cause accidents when the law is stricter because residents do not want to lose money or go to prison. For instance, according to a research, after governments paid more taxes and money on punishment, there is a decrease in the number of car accidents from 70% to 47%. Moreover, when governments increase the taxes on regulations, they can have a chance to rebuild and improve the quality of the infrastructure. In addition, it will be more safety for inhabitants when using transportations. To exemplify, if more road barriers are invested, it will be less traffic accidents per year.

On the other hand, transportation education can also help citizens to broaden their mind and cognitive. In addition, forcing is not always a good idea that it may cause counter-productive with many side effects. The illustration for this is that one survey have already acertained a research between self-disciplined and forced regulations when residents involve in transportations that leads to the result that self-disciplined people are less likely to cause accidents again.

To sum up, as I have already mentioned both sides of the issue above, it has more than one solution to charge on transportation offenses such as reinforcing the rules or strengthen the knowledge of driving through education. However, I believe that the benefits of making the regulations more severe outweights its drawbacks.