In order to reduce crime, we need to attack the causes of crime such as poverty and lack of educational opportunities. It is not enough to simply have more police in the street and put more people into prison. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion ?

Violation against the law is one of the growing concerns of the modern society. Here it is said that to decrease committing illegal activities, we are supposed to eradicate the root cause of this problem like improving the living status and giving education and so on. In this essay, we will discuss both the sides and give my opinion at the end.

On one hand, it is true that the main cause that led a person to commit a crime is their own situation. Many are doing these acts against the law because they don't have any way for their livelihood. If we help them to find a solution for their day-to-day life, then we can reduce it to some extent. Furthermore, employing the government servants like police on duty alone wont help to bring down the number of evil behaviors. Besides, moral education should be provided to all from their childhood. As an optimum example, in India, the crime rate slumped from 80% to 30% within a decade because of education that taught every one of social morals. As a result, we can build a better society.

On the other hand, some people are born criminals. Even though they have better education and high acceptance in the society, they end up doing illegal activities. Moreover, some antisocial elements are using religious belief to spread their antisocial behavior. There are many who involve themselves in activities that disrupt the peace of a nation. As an impeccable instance, a well-known family in Srilanka whose ancestors were patriots of the nation, was involved in the suicide bomb attacks that happened just a few months ago. As a consequence, the efforts that are made to avoid such circumstances are totally in void.

To conclude, not only education and punishments are important but also the monitoring and social involvement are necessary to get rid of social crimes. In my opinion I partially agree with the statement that by providing basic facilitates will help to minimize the social evil to some extent.