Overpopulation of urban areas has led to numerous problems. Identify one or two serious ones, and what ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems?

Many people believe that an overcrowding in big cities is the source of severe traffic congestion. However, building a sufficient transportation system could tackle this issue.

One of the impacts of the overpopulated city is severe traffic jams, leading to the downfall of people’s everyday productivity. To put it more simply, more population means a rise in mobility, resulting in more people commuting from one place to another. This leads to a loaded vehicle on the road. For instance, a survey done by the Indonesian Ministry of Transportation reveals that a 2% increase in population addition in Jakarta would impact a 13% rise in private vehicle volume on protocol roads. This is caused by the 20% increase of people who commute to the neighboring city to work. Hence, the addition of big cities’ inhabitants results in traffic congestion.

Nevertheless, establishing public transportation system could be the ultimate solution to solve this issue, decreasing the vehicle volume on the road. If the public transportation system is punctual, convenient, and accessible, people would be more encouraged to use it rather than driving their vehicles. According to a study done by Urban Planning students of Bandung Institute of Technology towards 1000 LRT commuters in Jakarta, around 70% of workers prefer to use LRT due to convenience. Also, the emergence of LRT has decreased the volume of vehicles on the protocol street by more than 50% in 2 years, although Jakarta's population increased by 2% each year. Thus, well-built transportation facilities have proven to solve traffic congestion issues.

To conclude, although overpopulation in the urban areas lead to traffic jam, a well-established transportation system could be of the solution to tackle this problem.