People nowadays send text messages more frequently than they talk on the phone. What are the reasons for this trend? Do the advantages of texting outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern era, texting by instant message catches on in the society rather than direct communication including phone call. There are several reasons for this interesting topic and however, I consent to be more disadvantageous side which will be elaborated below.

To begin with, catching on the use of instant message rather than telephoning could benefit modern society from carefully noticing the texting purpose. During productive days, to deliver message will likely be chosen by most of working people. In relation to time limitation, this has them priotise increased workload - the high responsibility of multitasking and concentration. Furthermore, the proper-arranged sentences could be another reasonable one. The unpredictable situations of emotional feelings (nervousness and hesitation) probably distract the effectiveness of direct conversational characters including what the callers intend to convey. If people choose a texting way, they will have a chance to correct and ensure the proper sentences.

On the other hand, this issue might bring demerit which is inappropriate avenue to communicate with colleagues, especially top manager. The delayed reply might arouse the worse result of crucial determination that should be decided earlier, not to mention the unacceptable behaviour of communicating. In addition, a binding relationship could be stronger in the way of telephoning that forms intimate and deep conversation, especially for a spouse. Tone and stress voice, which could generate certain feeling or emotion regarding its content, are only provided in two-way communication (being on call).

To sum up, the tendency of operating short message rather than phoning would be induced by the objective of contextual information and the accuracy of selecting words. Meanwhile, I argue that unacceptable phone etiquette and lower couple relationship seems to be its demerits.