People should be able to keep all the money they earn, they should not pay tax for the state. Agree or disagree?

It is often believed by a section of people that taxes should not be paid, and they should remain in possession of all their income. In my opinion, I agree with this point of view because the state gets revenue from other sources, in addition, taxes are usually not properly accounted for.

Taxation which is considered as the major source of income for development by the state is in most cases not accounted for in a prudent way. In other words, it is mostly argued by the opponent of taxation that all monies accrued from taxes are not remitted to the government coffer. As a result, it goes into the account of individuals, who corruptly enrich themselves and their families. Nigeria, the most populous nation in Africa, for instance, is reported in the New York Times to have not audited tax income for about 10 years due to corruption. This has made so many people lost confidence in the government and think it is right not to pay taxes.

In addition to trust issues, a plethora of people have thought that since there are other ways to generate income, the government should focus on that means of proceeds for development. In their word, they argue that sales of natural resources such as crude oil and precious stones make up about 80% of the total annual budget. Therefore, there is no reason for taxing the citizen as those sales will cater to all the needs for the year.

In conclusion, there is no doubt taxes have been made mandatory in many countries, however, the sources of income for the state is enough to develop the country. Moreover, the lack of trust in the government is why taxes should not be paid.