People today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

It is true that many people these days suffer from unsafe feeling when they not only stay at home but are on the streets or public spaces. These are several causes of this feeling, and effective solutions should be proposed to address those fears.

To begin with, the perception that society is unsafe and people are at high risk at home stems from two grounds. The first reason is that acts of violence increasingly taking place in some places around the world have hurt or even killed many innocents. For example, a mass shooting recently at a campus of a university in the US killed at least five students. This violent event was soon broadcasted, which discourages people to stay in crowded places which are believed to be unsafe. Additionally, as many people in cities live in high-rise buildings, they fear that they cannot escape out of their apartments fast enough in emergency situations such as fire or earthquake.

Some effective measures should be implemented to deal with these root causes of insecurity. First, the authorities should impose law enforcement on banning citizens from carrying weapons such as guns or knives. As a result, citizens would feel more confident to take part in outdoor activities in public spaces without worrying about being violently attacked. Second, stricter punishments should be given to those who carry out criminal behaviors towards others, which will act as a deterrent to decrease the number of illegal acts in society. Final, advanced equipment of fire prevention and fighting systems must be deployed to ensure the safety of people who are living in a high building.

In conclusion, the feeling of unsafety among citizens happens because of increasingly violent acts and the inherent dangers in high building, and several actions need to be taken to address these issues.