Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

There are concerns about plastic products used daily, such as bags, bottles, and other similar things in many countries. While it is argued about what the demerits of plastics on the environment are, I believe that citizens and the authorities should take some possible measures to tackle those issues.

There is no denying that the environment suffers from significant drawbacks when humans regularly produce and use plastics. It is widely assumed that deforestation is occurring at an alarming rate, one of which is associated with plastic products, which are difficult to dispose of. This means that humans tend to cut down more wood to build new landfills, leading to the loss of habitats for native animals and plants. Furthermore, plastic products are likely to have negative effects on food chains, particularly on aquatic creatures. If plastic waste is thrown away, poor species will accidentally swallow it, thus not recognizing that it is not food.

However, each person and their state office should take potential actions to minimize those damaging consequences. Firstly, the government could foster citizens’ awareness of environmental protection by limiting the use of plastic products and banning deforestation. Besides, they are able to introduce new rules, such as applying new taxes on using or manufacturing plastic products, helping reduce the amount of plastic generated. Finally, waste, including plastic, should be gathered and processed by chemicals to avoid the chance for animals to eat it.

In conclusion, I personally find some solutions to address the demerits of plastic products in nature, such as promoting knowledge in the community or processing them carefully before throwing them away. If humans had no actions, there would no longer be a wonderful environment with green forests and innocent species in the future.