Professional workers like doctors, nurses and teachers make a greater contribution to society and so should be paid more than sports and entertainment personalities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Apparently, there is a common prejudice that athletes or those who work in the entertainment industry do not deserve to be paid more than professional workers such as doctors, nurses or teachers. It is due to the fact that people believe knowledge worker can make a much greater contribution to the country. Nonetheless, I am totally against this notion as it is awfully wrongheaded.

At the outset, there is no denying that entertainment personalities definitely exert a positively profound impact on the development of the society. Initially, it is a common knowledge that these celebrities who apply themselves to develop their skills, capacities, and manifest attempts are an enormously inspirational source for teenagers. Therefore, adolescents are very likely to be motivated to develop themselves and become a well- educated generation in the future. Besides, entertainment stars are capable of making a great contribution to the socio – economic development of the country. They definitely can help to boost the national economy by means of making billions of dollars each year. These celebrities are also adept at promoting the country’s image to the world, which can boost the tourism industry. For example, thanks to the Korean Wave, Korea earned 15.2 billion USD from tourists, attracting 13.2 million tourists in 2015.

Another noteworthy point is that, paying professional workers more than those who work in entertainment industry can create inequality in the society. Entertainment stars are likely to assume that they are being treated unfairly despite their making far-reaching impact on the country. As a result, many strike or rebellions will take place, which definitely leads to a sharp rise in social evils and leave terribly long lasting influence on the society.

To sum up, I wholeheartedly believe that there should not be a fall in the salary of sports or other entertainment personalities. Professional workers also need to be provided a more reasonable income when they deserve.