QQQQQQ : 1 Some people think that the best way to reduce the time spent travelling to work is to replace parks and gardens close to the city centre with apartment buildings for commuters, but others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Recently, the issue of converting green spaces near the central area of the city into residential buildings has become the subject of heated debate. Some people assert that transforming eco-friendly facilities, such as gardens and parks, into housing areas in order to reduce time devoted to commuting to and from work should be encouraged, while others argue otherwise. Personally, I wholeheartedly agree with the former stand. In the following essay, both views will be discussed before a conclusion is reached with my opinion.

On the one hand, those who claim that people should not remove environment-friendly places near the city business district so as to erect skyscrapers for citizens do so for several reasons. Proponents of this argument insist that having gardens and parks close to the city centre makes it possible for people of working age to take a rest with greater ease during their lunchtime, helping them to unwind. To provide a hypothetical example, if it were not for parks as well as gardens, a multitude of employees would have difficulty alleviating the level of stress, which often exerts a detrimental influence on their work performance.

My opinion, however, is that it is an effective way of combating a high volume of traffic to substitute residential areas for green places. Perhaps the most compelling reason is that if a myriad of workers living close to the CBD travel to the workplace by foot or bike, other dwellers in suburban areas would be less likely to suffer from traffic congestion considering that the number of personal vehicles on roads would remarkably decrease. This phenomenon contributes to an increase in the quality of citizen's life. Moreover, establishing housing areas near the city centre allows commuters to allocate less time to travelling to work and as a result, working people are more likely to concentrate on their employment. In light of the above, I find these more persuasive.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that there are a variety of opinions about this topic. However, after considering this matter in a careful manner, I fully support the view that superseding gardens and parks close to the city centre by apartments is necessary for the reasons discussed above.