Research shows that business meetings, discussions and training are happening online nowadays. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays with the help of modern technology, many profit-operations are more likely to have meetings, discussions and training on the internet. In my opinion, I believe that the merits of this change outweigh the drawbacks.

It is undeniable that using an online platform is still having a bad effect on instructing new employees or having a meeting. Due to lack of facial expression and face to face interactions, people easily get off track and misunderstand. During a meeting or a training online, it is difficult for people to fully concentrate on what the speakers or the instructors are saying when there are a bunch of distractions popping up like facebook, youtube, email or messenger notifications. As a result, they get distracted and lose their effectiveness and focusness during the training or meeting.

However, the disadvantages may seem minor to the merits which could benefit the businesses for a long term. This is because they can reduce a huge amount of cost for their company when all of their business activities are operating online. In fact, many companies like facebook and google are interviewing their candidates everyday through screen and this helps them to lower the expenses for rental accomodation. Moreover, this also helps people to save time when participating in the training and meeting at any time they feel comfortable, thus, there is no need for them to commute a long distance to the company.

In conclusion, although there are some drawbacks to having meetings or training online such as distractions and misunderstandings, its merits could bring a significantly positive impact on the companies like reducing cost and saving time.