Responsible tourists could preserve both the local culture and environment. Some people think it is impossible to be a responsible tourist. To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a common belief that indigenous culture and environment could be conserved by well-mannered tourists, while others hold the view that being a responsible visitor is impossible. From my perspective, there are both positive and negative impacts of this issue.

On the one hand, there are some advantages for the native culture and nature that are needed to be concerned about. Firstly, local culture is protected and developed by responsible tourists because of donating and ameliorating. For instance, Bat Trang village is a traditional village in Vietnam for making and trading hand-made potteries but it has been modified currently with some modern constructions due to the support of tourism. Secondly, occupational opportunities also are created in terms of services for the locals and they have the responsibility to preserve cultural specificity through the enhancement of tourism. As a consequence, the local life will be improved and get better and their awareness will be raised.

On the other hand, irresponsibility happens with some people and almost unable to change. First and foremost, despite mandatory regulations, tourists still do whatever they want and break the rule. For example, chewing gums and littering are banned in a cleaned city such as Singapore but some reverse actions occurred under the laws. Furthermore, understanding completely about one’s culture is not always possible because some specific information sometimes is not found on the internet. If a visitor came to a region and infringe local rules, native people would not feel welcome and comfortable.

To sum up, responsible tourists play an important role in cultural development and conserving the environment by supporting and creating more chances for the areas but knowing totally about the regulations is not possible in some situations. Personally, through visiting places, raising awareness of local region where they are visiting are necessary in order to improve tourism around the world.