For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that teachers play a greater role in children's development in intelligence and social skills. In my opinion, parents' roles and responsibilities should not be ignored and they are equally important to children.

It is understandable that some people regard teachers as more significant in directing school children. To begin with, children spend a great deal of time in school with their teachers when they are growing up. Teachers do not only impart knowledge but also act as guardians of the students. They cultivate children's cooperation and competition with one another which benefit to develop social skills. Schools are also identified as a mini-society which can make students to exercise communication abilities. In terms of intelligence development, schools and teachers have adopted a contemporary way of teaching methodologies and techniques that are more effective and influential than that of parents.

However, parents' influence on children's education and formation of personalities should also be emphasised. Parents are the first people that their children come into contact with. As studies show, much of the brain development occurs before the age of three, during which parents are crucial. From a social perspective, parents' behaviour exert irreplaceable impact on their children. They tend to imitate their parents' words and behaviour which contribute to the formation of their personalities. Finally, parents also play a role in ensuring that the atmosphere at home is conducive to learning. No matter how well the teacher teaches, if the home environment is not suitable for learning, the children will not progress.

In conclusion, it does not hold much water that teachers have more influence on children's development. While teachers and parents' roles are not quite the same, they shoulder equal responsibility on the way children growing up.