For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents.To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a big debate that whether teachers or parents play more important roles on children's development in intelligence and social skills. In this essay I will analyse their main ideas and conclude my own opinion.

It is understandable that some people regard teachers as more significant roles for directing school children. To begin with, from attending the primary school, pupils spend most of the daytime with their peers and teachers on the way they growing up. Children are easily affected by their surroundings, which means that teachers' behaviour and style will be followed or learned by students. Furthermore, teachers do not only impart theoretical knowledge but also social skills such as how to get along well with others. Although some parents can also teach their children, the main responsibility of literal education is carried out by school and teachers.

However, parents' influence on children's education and formation of personalities should not be ignored. Parents are widely recognised as their children's first teacher. Their roles are irreplaceable especially before school age which is supposed as the crucial stage of intelligence development. For example, a family atmosphere that is conducive to learning could help children acquire knowledge with higher efficiency. Besides, children on their early growing phase tend to imitate their parents' habit, behaviour and even speaking style. These factors are essential for them to form social skills which cannot be easily replaced by school.

In conclusion, both parents and teachers have influence on children' learning and interactive development. While their roles are not quite the same, they shoulder equal responsibility on the way children growing up.