For schoolchildren, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social development than their parents.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that teachers have more influence on children’s developments in terms of academic knowledge and social life skills compared to their parents. I partly agree to the extent; however, there are some definite issues to consider which will be further discussed in this essay.

There are various arguments in favour of the influence of teachers to the students. First, children spend more time at school than in other places in their daily life. Since school day is 5 days a week which the time starts from 8 am to around 7 pm and some extra hours after the normal class, teachers are the one whom children being with the most. As a result, children could learn several lessons and knowledges from the school. Moreover, teachers teach to share and live with others in the class resulting in social skill development. As there are many children with different background and preferences, school can be a primary place for learning living with others which can not find these skills in any books.

On the other hand, parents are also the main contributor of their child’s development for many reasons. First, parent are closer to their child than teacher. This is because parents give them a birth and raise them since then. Accordingly, family can know more precisely in what areas needed to be developed and learned by their child. In addition, there are other crucial skills which can be supported by parents. For example, parents can encourage the child to review the lessons from the school and help them to do some more researchs for deep understanding in that issue.

In conclusion, I believe that both school and parent have a big influence on the childrend in many different ways. If there is no support from only one side, the student might have no readiness to study further or live in our society.