School children today take part in work experience sessions for short periods of time instead of attending school. Is this positive or negative development?

Lately, there is a new trend in the education system where the students are directed to experience more in the professional working world. In my point of view, by considering the merits and demits that come along with this system, I believe that it is beneficial for the related parties.

There are some points that strengthen the advantages of recent alteration in education system from mostly holding in school to arranging some practical works outside the school. First of all, the early exposure to business world is capable to make the youngsters understand how the professional works, while at the same time this chance might be becomes a good time for them to find their personal interest to be learnt. Following this, by going to the worksite on the scheduled times instead of studying at the school all the time, the students will know the implementation of the theories given by their teachers. Not only for the students, the enterprises also obtain some beneficial impacts from this trend, the most apparent benefit is that there are some more ready workforces to be hired in the future.

However, some things still need to be considered carefully such as, before the students are sent to the worksites, it is important to ensure that they already have sufficient basic knowledge from the school beforehand. Furthermore, a deeper research must be held to decide the best proportion about how long the students should go to learn practical and theoretical knowledge on the arranged periods.

To conclude, although there are some aspects that need to be cleared first, by not only attending the school but also taking part in work experience sessions the students and the related parties like employers will attain some benefits. Hence, I am convinced that it is a positive trend.