School teachers are more responsible for the social and intellectual development of students than parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that school teachers have a greater impact than parents on the social and intellectual development of students. I find myself in full accord with this view because classroom teachers provide high-quality knowledge and teach pupils how to deal with their peers. Furthermore, teachers can become extremely important points of reference in the case of families with social problems or lack of time to dedicate to their offspring.

Classroom teachers guide students towards a successful integration into society and impart knowledge. Owning to their authority in the classroom and knowledgeability, students may give more credit to educators than their parents. Moreover, students generally spend half of their daytime at school. For instance, in the classroom, through the teaching of different subjects such as past and present history, science and art, students broad their mind. In addition, school teachers ought to teach different groups of pupils how to resolve conflicts amongst them and live together in a civil or courteous way. This complex, invaluable and irreplaceable scenario does not occur at home, and so, in my opinion, school teachers have a greater responsibility than parents in terms of social and cultural education.

In families with social issues, teachers assume an even greater responsibility because they have to make up for the lack of family support. Regarding ordinary families, teachers could still exert a prevalent rule due to the fact that in our modern society, parents are often busy with their careers, and they lack time to dedicate to their offspring. Finally, students probably spend more time at school and on studying than with their parents. Therefore, there is a high likelihood that school teachers have a preeminent role in the social and intellectual development of these students.

In conclusion, due to the fact that students spend quite a number of hours in the classroom and due to the social interactions that in a classroom occurs, teachers are likely to exert a greater influence on students than parents do, especially when students belong to families with social problems or where parents lack time to spend with their family.