Scientist say that in the future humanity will speak the same language . Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

There is no denial that beside the major community speaking English as mother tongue, there are also a plenty of other languages all over the world. In the future, some scientists anticipate and hypothesize that what if there is an international language for over 200 countries. However, apart from several apparent advantages, it is my firm conviction that the drawbacks are overwhelmed.

On the one hand, the emergence of universal language will bring about numerous benefits for humanity in terms of removing language barrier. One of the most primary effect is that commercial and travel services can be carried out smoothly regardless western or eastern hemisphere. With the rise of global language, the gap between countries and continents could be gotten rid of which produce the result that people can travel to any nation without studying their foreign language. What is more, the potential and opportunity of occupation will be broaden to students and workers. In results, it can be an ideal measurement for unemployment in developing nations as well as the shortage of workforce in countries suffering from aging population such as Japan.

Apart from positive effects I expressed above, the demerits of speaking the same languages can not be denied. Needless to say, in these days, each country has such a strong sense of identity since each enhance their own customs and belief. When the universal language comes about, every nation has to sacrifice a small part or even loss their unique culture in order to integrate with the entire world.In the circumstance when every countries merges into a wide society, the diversity in culture and customs will no longer exist and substituted by a similar culture. In some cases, the younger generation by no means can understand and know clearly their origin when knowledge about history is no loner imparted from senior generation. Although people stop hesitating when traveling between two countries, it seems to be not as fascinating as before when everything is going to be familiar.

In conclusion, making every countries on the globe speaking the same language can be considered to be inconceivable or if it is possible it will consume a long time. However, even this situation brings the world into a solitary community, in some cases, it will be counterproductive and has negative effects on culture.