Scientists have been warning for many years that to protect the environment, we have to limit the use of energy in our daily lives. Despite warning many people do not pay attention to this.

What are the reasons for this and how can people be encouraged to save the environment?

We have been informed by scientist long ago that, it is important we safeguard our environment by reducing the amount of power we consume on a daily basis. However, we have not been taking necessary measures to avert these consequences. This essay will explain the cause of this and profer possible solutions.

Generally speaking, people are not likely to pay attention to something the government is not penalizing them for. If they are not held accountable by the authorities people will not change their ways. Also, some people are actually naive about this topic, they are not really aware of the negative impact of excessive energy consumption and burning of fossil fuel. It should be taught in schools using documentaries and across all works of life to improve its awareness among the populace.

There are ways to improve the awareness of this issue and methods to encourage people to save our environment. First and foremost, there should be proper sensitization by the government and NGOs, They should continuously make public announcements in the community, printing flyers, holding conference, and workshops as well as involving all age groups and corporate bodies in this campaign of awareness. Also, the government should allocate a maximum daily energy quota in our homes and offices such that, when people surpass their daily energy allowance they are penalized for it. Perhaps they will begin to take little precautions, like using renewable energy bulbs, using less of fossil fuels, and switching off appliances when they are not in use. Finally, the government should develop other sources of energy like wind energy and solar energy.

There has to be more awareness among people and as well as holding people accountable for a change to be seen in the ways we utilize energy in our daily activities.