Solar energy is becoming more and more popular as a source of household energy in many countries around the world. Why is this? What are the advantages and disadvantages of solar energy?

In recent years, there has been a rapid increase in the usage of solar power for domestic purposes in many countries. This essay will discuss the reasons behind this trend and illustrates the benefits and drawbacks of solar energy.

There are mainly two reasons for this. Firstly, fossil fuels are shrinking rapidly. This is largely because the energy demand is increasing day by day, and as they are non-renewable sources of energy, they are bound to end one day. For instance, recent research by the UK Government has demonstrated that humans have already consumed over 60% of the available raw oil, and by 2040, there will be no oil left on the earth. Secondly, due to the political conflicts in the world, many countries are not willing to share their energy resources with others. Consequently, governments have started looking for alternatives for conventional sources of energy.

There are numerous benefits to ensure homes with solar power. Since humanity hasn’t been influenced by the harvesting of the sun's heat, it is considered the safest and vivid fuel. Additionally, the cost of installing solar panels for electricity is quite affordable and many nations are offering profitable schemes to promote solar power. For example, in Azerbaijan, the government is offering support for solar panels and other equipment. Therefore, it is evident that because of the benefits, people are switching to solar energy. On the flip side, solar energy does have some drawbacks. It can only be produced during the day and in countries with abundant sunlight. This is due to the fact that in many parts of the world, the sun is only visible for few hours a day. For example, in countries like Finland and Norway, it is not possible to harvest the sun's heat in winters because it is too cold and the sun is not visible throughout the day. Hence, this is the major obstacle in switching completely to solar energy for domestic purposes.

To conclude, there is no doubt that solar energy is the cheapest and great source of household energy and in my opinion, it is predicted that its usage will continue to increase in the future