Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. Which solution is better?

Demographic projections suggest that city dwellers in metropolitan areas will grow exponentially in the upcoming years, which requires some affluent cities to accommodate citizens by construction multistorey buildings. However, other urban areas tend to offer housing expansion to their citizens. From my perspective, both these two initiatives are equally effective in light of the following interpretations.

On the one hand, building skyscrapers to meet the population’s requirements will bring about a plethora of benefits to the government and the public. First and foremost, what the government might take advantage of taller buildings is to address land scarcity stemming from the influx of rural citizens to urban areas. This is because an apartment’s capacity is likely to contain hundreds of citizens, which might ease a land scarcity burden. Additionally, providing taller buildings will provide residents with a precious opportunity to get access to a variety of complex amenities. For instance, skyscrapers these days tend to be equipped with a rooftop swimming pool, gym and supermarket, which aids residents to steer clear of heading out and therefore assists them to save time.

On the other hand, housing expansion also results in an array of considerable advantages to inhabitants. One of the most irrefutable merits is to bring people with a sense of comfort. This is because homeowners on a wider space could immerse themselves in a spacious living room or gardening, which, in turn, creates a comfortable and cosy atmosphere. In tandem with this, what city dwellers might also make use of housing expansion is a sense of security. It is plausible that a house is usually designed with a state-to-the-art anti-robbery system that prevents trespassing for the sake of robbery. As a result, city dwellers whose homes are located in a larger space might feel safety.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that the urban population might grow explosively in the years to come, which demands policymakers to seek a silver bullet to accommodate those city dwellers. From my perspective, constructing skyscrapers is as efficient as building houses on a wider land on account of the described reasons.