Some cities have vehicle-free days when private cars, trucks and motorcycles are banned from the city center. People are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis and metro on vehicle-free days. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Vehicle-free days are available in some urban areas, where private vehicles are not allowed in this day and people are encouraged to use public transportation such as buses, taxis, and metro instead. There are some drawbacks to this trend, but I would argue this is a positive trend.

On the one hand, vehicle-free days might cause interruptions for a small number of businessmen. Because private cars and motorcycles are banned from this day, people who are having 9-to-5 jobs could be late for work. Moreover, transport by rapid transit is not satisfactory for business that requires fast and flexible travel. For example, people who do real estate jobs have to go to many places in time in the morning, then public transportation could not do those workers that favor.

On the other hand, vehicle-free days could express to individuals the advantages of traveling with rapid transit. Using rapid transit, not only provide a great reduction in traffic jam and pollution but also enhance the city’s atmosphere to become better or even more friendly to the environment. In addition, travel by public transportation would give chance to civilians to know how beautiful is the place that they are living, which could inspirit people to stop using vehicles that have bad effects on the environment. For instance, people who always get stressed with driving to work could feel relaxed and comfortable when they transport by bus or metro because it’s can get those individuals out of the rush and their struggle with heavy traffic.

All things considered, vehicle-free days bring people and their living places a great number of benefits. It can not be denied that its advantages outweigh the disadvantages.