In some countries, children are told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, some people often teach children that when they work hard enough, they can have anything. While I accept that it can be beneficial, I also believe that it brings some negative consequences as well.

On the one hand, this educating message can lead to some positive effects. It encourages children to pursue their dream and passion. We can see that it is easy for children to give up on their action which seems to be challenging. In such cases, this thought can be useful to drive them to keep going. Nguyen Quang Hai, who practiced football industriously during his childhood despite his short stature, is now a star on the Vietnam football field. Another benefit is that it persuades children to stand up after a failure. If children do not believe that they can achieve their goal someday, they may assume that their effort could be useless hence stop trying.

On the other hand, this message can result in some drawbacks. If children have a strong belief in it, they could set unrealistic goals. However, if they are unable to achieve it, they may get disappointed, even depressed. The second consequence is that it can put children under pressure. They could work around the clock every day with the hope of being successful, which can be detrimental to their health. One of my former friends, for example, spent over 5 hours per day sitting to study mass of stuffs instead of taking part in outside activities, therefore she ended up becoming overweight, and her eyesight has also gotten worse.

In conclusion, the belief that children can achieve any goal if they spend enough effort can have both favorable and unfavorable consequences.