In some countries, the difference in age between parents and children is generally greater than it was in the past. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In several countries, the age gap between parents and their children is increasing more significant today than it was in the past. From my perspective, this phenomenon could create certain drawbacks, but I conclude that its merits are weightier.

On the one hand, few drawbacks have arisen from the wider age gap between parents and children. Indeed, as the age difference grows larger, it can be seen that the parents and their offspring may share a variety of different figures, such as hobbies, opinions, and even life attitudes. Consequently, family conflicts can occur among family members, which may cause tension, or even worse, collapse and disconnection in family relationships. For instance, before the National High School Examination graduation, children will face a dilemma about attending either social science or financial universities. Assume kids decide to attend a social science university because they will evaluate their future career and work based on their personal preferences. However, their parents contradicted them because they had a preconception about this major and persuaded their sons or daughters to enroll in a financial university associated with high income and stability in the future life. This situation could be an obstacle to the in-depth mutual misunderstanding between them, and thus, eventually, lead to animosity and a lost parent-and-child bond.

On the other hand, it is said that having a distant space between parents and children's ages has some noteworthy effects. First and foremost, this life option is favorable for the parent's better preparation for parenting. At a greater age, parents tend to be more psychologically ready to raise their kids with substantial life experience accumulated. Compared to young parents who chose to have children earlier, they may not have been well prepared to take care of their children, and hence, they may have encountered more social difficulties in interpersonal relationships and at work. Furthermore, this approach is also desirable for laying a solid foundation to guarantee the quality of life for both parents and their sons or daughters. Due to a surge in the economy, the standard of living and social requirements are rising, making life more complicated. Therefore, it is true that instead of giving birth to a child soon after graduation or starting work, numerous years of career development are more likely to bring one a stable and rewarding income to support the young family members with better food, healthcare, and education.

In summary, despite the deficiency that a wider age gap can bring, I consider that this phenomenon still benefits as children will experience a higher standard of living and parents can educate them in a good way. Nevertheless, both parents and their offspring need to create an open two-way communication channel and try to think from each other's angles and listen patiently to others' perspectives to avoid some awkward situations which can create conflicts. If they can do it, a harmonious family relationship can still be maintained.