In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

It is unquestionable that young generation should study oversea in different countries. Although studying abroad would bring some possible shortcomings, I believe that the drawbacks are outweighed by its advantage because of some convincing arguments mentioned in this essay.

In my view, there are two reasons why studying abroad is disadvantageous. The first drawback is that because of living far from families, students could they some mental health such as depression or stress. Some students feel loneliness, and this can explained by the fact that they have to live alone, learn how to cook and take care of themselves. Another shortcoming is that families often have financial burden because of the high costs of living in foreign countries. Therefore, they often go part-time to earn money to cover part of daily expenses such as properties, electricity and water bills. Consequently, the time students spend on studying is less, and lead to worse academic performance.

Despite the arguments above, I believe that studying oversea is more beneficial because of considerable advantages. Firstly, students have the chance to access different habits and customs. This can explained by the fact that they usually make new international friends and teachers. Besides, the international degree has much well-earned for their future. For example, recruiters in Vietnam tend to favour candidates graduating from an international university over those who don’t have this. Thanks to that, their career prospects would be more open with high salaries and crucial positions in giant corporations.

In conclusion, while there are some drawbacks in studying oversea, I would argue that the positive aspects of this trend outweigh its negative ones.