In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year

between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do

this.

Nowadays, the question of whether students should take a gap year between high school graduation and higher education or not has caused a great deal of public attention. This essay will explore the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to take this gap year. (While there are benefits such as personal growth and skill development, there are also potential drawbacks concerning academic engagement and delayed graduation.)

On the one hand, there are several benefits of having a year off before accessing higher education. First, a gap year is a great opportunity for individuals to broaden their horizon and improve personal growth. By interacting with new environment, student can experience real workplace and strike up new relationship with colleague, which helps students gain valuable working knowledge and build a business networking. This contributes their overall development and prepares them for future challenge in their academic and professional life. Second, individuals can relax and reduce stress in the period between high school graduation and choosing suitable university. In fact, due to the lack of real life experience, students feel really confused to determine their ideal department or majority. So, a gap year will help people recharge their battery and have time to explore their passion to find out the best university.

On the other hand, a year off between high school and university still contain plenty of drawbacks. Firstly, if students can seek a job with handsome salary, they potentially disengage in higher education and delay their university graduation. This means that it is difficult for students to adapt to universities learning environment and to maintain study habit. This result in negative impacts on academic performance and prolong their time in university. Secondly, accessing the higher education later may cause peer pressure in students. While some people use their gap year to access knowledge, other may use this just for entertainment without any plan or purposes. This leads to a gap in knowledge and skills compared who proceed directly to university

In conclusion, there are both pros and cons in taking a gap year between high school and university. By considering carefuly the benefits and drawbacks, individuals can determine their purposes for their academic process.