Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that death penalty is unacceptable in contemporary society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The question of the offenders’ punishment has always been debatable in all the societies. Some people believe that people who perpetrated murder or a terror attack should be punished by death sentences, while others think that this measure is not appropriate in the modern world. Although death penalty can be a useful mechanism in crime prevention, I strongly believe that this measure may lead to possible errors of judgment.

On the one hand, the statement that some offences should be punished by death penalty is justified. For instance, according to the social interviews among casualties and independent people in USA in 2012, which showed that 80 percent of responders think that murders deserve the strongest penalty. Therefore, some countries and some states of America choose the death penalty for terrorists, murders and rapists. In such way governments try to protect their citizens and prevent the tendency of law-breakers. Thus, this measure helps to confront with criminals and keep them scared.

On the other hand, death sentence is a last century, because today’s world called humane solutions for everybody. Proceeding from this, some authorities prefer to balance and do not go to extremes, tacking a humane approach to the problem. For example, according to the researches by The Moscow Medical University, it has been proven that murders and terrorist have a specific types of disability, such as mental, intellectual or psychosocial problems. To my mind, a such people should be in prisons and should have a medical treatment, because the execution deprives of life but does not resolve the problem of offence or casualties. In other words, the human solution may prevent possible errors of judgment and save more lives.

In conclusion, it is necessary to say that our today’s world called contemporary decisions and measures but different governments reserve the right to use capital punishments or not.