Some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adapt to a new environment by establishing a minority community. Discuss these two views and give your opinion

In the recent years, migration has become rather renowned due to an enormous amount of reasons which include skyroketing costs of living and raging wars in the motherlands. It has given rise to many multicultural nations. The first and foremost challenge faced by all immigrants alike is the culture shock, the sense of disorientation in the midst of a foreign land. While many make sound efforts to fit in and merge with the local culture, some try to prevail as minority communities by maintaining their cultural uniqueness and originality.

In my opinion, it is wise of the immigrants to blend in with the local culture at the start to build friendships and to avoid being ostracized and ridiculed from the society. Respecting the local cultural values, heritages and traditions could in turn earn a firm footing within a land predominated by the locals. On the other hand, it is equally important to stay close to the individual intrinsic traditions and aid in the flourishing of multicultural nations. Hence, the cultural identity of immigrants will remain solid while the nation could be enriched with a diversely skilled workforce to keep up with the increasing globalization.

Celebration of different cultural festivals could bring about an immense amount of joy to the people and it could also break the otherwise monotonous vibe of the nation. This practice would not only ensure the thriving of immigrant cultures but also, teach the fundamental importance of respecting different ethnicities, cultures etc.

In conclusion, it could be mentioned that the immigrants ought not try to adapt to the entirely alien local culture but, learn to live in coherence with it while holding one’s culture dear to them. This would give rise to a harmonious co-existence of multiple cultures within a nation that will indeed add value to its beauty.