Some people believe that everyone has a right to have access to university education and that governments should make it free for all students no matter what financial background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the question that college tuition should be free for all students regardless of socio-economic background has caused a great deal of public attention. Personally, I partly agree with this point of view.

On the on hand, there are numerous compelling reasons why students should have a chance to access university free. First, on the individual level, people from poor families can get an equal educational opportunity, which means that their abilities and talents can be found and developed well. This leads to a better chance in finding a well-paid job and getting higher living standards. Second, on the societal level, free-of-charge policy in university education brings to the society a well-educated workforce. The result is a thriving economy and a civilized society.

On the other hand, there are several drawbacks of provision of free-of- charge education. Firstly, it can cause several negative impacts on job seeking of students. Since the labor market has become more competitive, it is more difficult for bachelor’s degree holder with lack of real experience to find a job. This means that college qualifications gradually lost their value in job ensuring for graduates. Secondly, in terms of society, pursuing higher education without fee can cause great pressure for government such as budget deficits, tax hikes or reduced welfare. This brings about the decline of overall development in both society and economy.

In conclusion, there are both advantage and disadvantage of providing free college tuition for both individual and government. By considering pressure and benefits from abolishing tuition fee, the government can introduce some scholarship of 50% or 100% tuition fee for good academic performance learners.