Some people believe that the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both the views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there have been two opposing views on how to cope with the problem of traffic jam. Some masses ponder that authority should allocate more funds for the construction of railways and metro systems. However, others consider road-widening policies a feasible solution to improve traffic flow. In this essay, I shall discuss both the aspects before commenting my opinion.

on the one hand, there are some clear reasons why the extension and construction of roads can alleviate the volume of traffic. The most obvious reason is, the existing roads are inadequate to provide the space for the increasing of cars. In big cities, people, who live in the outskirts, usually commute to work by their own car. This may leads to a rise in traffic congestion in both inside as well as outside of the city.

On the other hand, people believe that government should spending money on building trains and subway lines is better decision to tackle traffic jam. Firstly, since such public transport usually runs quickly than cars, people tend to give priorities these forms of transport to travel. This may relieve the pressure on the current roads. For example, in metropolitan cities have facility of metro train, which is very helpful to control traffic no the road.

In my opinion, although more network on the roads is built, people are able to drive on an alternative way to reduce crowd when traffic is occur, but it is a short term solution because day-by-day the numbers of vehicles increasing on the roads and sometimes, there is rarely available land to extend roads, especially in large cities. The metro network, built underground, would therefore be a more practical option, and it has proved in many cities across the world.

In conclusion, although the size of roads cut traffic jams, it seems to me that installing train and subway is an effective solution to overcome the number of vehicles on the roads.