Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many hold a belief that the policy allowing police to carry guns in execution of justice is accompanied by the upsurge of violent crimes in real life. However, in my opinion, this pessimism is ungrounded.

Firstly, it is noteworthy that police officers are responsible for deterring the latent criminals and taking care of all the citizens’ safety, which could be largely guaranteed by gun-carrying action. Many behavioral studies have shown that although it is invisible, some people who intend to commit a crime are inclined to quit taking action if they are

aware of the serious consequence of meeting gun-carrying police. Therefore, it will be a mistake to overlook the fact that guns are one of effective tools that the police can use to maintain social order and social safety as it is the best deterrent to potential lawbreakers and scare off the

would-be criminals.

Secondly, the counter-argument raised by objectors to this is that police officers taking guns on duty would inevitably raise the level of violent crimes, because this

policy may add fuel to the fire of gun culture. On the ground of democracy and individual freedom, people ask for legalization of private gun ownership for defense or

recreational purposes. This justification is reasonable to some degree; yet, it is incomplete, what they fail to take into account is the fact that publicly traded gun and

ammunition could be reduced by various regulations, typically ending legal immunity for gun manufacturers, investing in smart gun technology, making open gun carriage in puclic places illegal.

In conclusion, it is my opinion that there are more benefits than problems regarding gun-carrying police for reasons mentioned above.