Some people believe that women should be treated as equal to men when applying for a job with police or the military. Others think women are less suitable for this kind of job. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

One of the highly controversial issues today relates to whether female applicants for police or the military job should be treated equally regardless of the gender difference or these kinds of job do not fit for women. In this essay, I will examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I agree with the former opinion.

On one side of the argument there are people who argue that women should be treated in a similar way to men in applying for police and the military. The main reason for believing this is that all individuals have a right to choose their job freely. It is the fundamental human rights, which should be provided for everyone equally. This principle can be applied for any kind of job, including law enforcement and the army. It is also possible to say that female workers is definitely necessary in any workplaces. There is a type of job that is more favorable for women to deal with. One good illustration of this is physical examinations for female criminals and injured female soldiers. If men do this, it may cause the issue of sexual harassment.

On the other hand, it is also possible to make the opposing case. It is often argued that women are unsuitable for these kinds of job. People often have this opinion because these jobs are physically challenging for women. Generally speaking, women are inferior to men in terms of physical strength. Police officers and soldiers have many opportunities to fight with brutal male criminals and warier in a crime scene or a battle field. In these situations, it is highly possible that female officers or soldiers become a victim of physical violence or even sexual assault.

In conclusion, I believe that both argument are convincing. On balance, however, I tend to believe that women should be treated equally in application for police and the military from the view point of human rights and role that women can play in some situations rather than being treated unequally in terms of physical strength.