Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

In this contemporary era, domestic waste disposal and recycling is a major issue to deal with. Some people accord that it can be better deal by making some stringent rules by the authorities, to motivate people to recycle the waste. However, i believe along with imposing rules, government should also educate people about the methods and benefits of reprocessing to create awareness among them.

To commence it, the role of laws in increasing the recycling of household waste would surely prove constructive in many ways. To illustrate it, if government impose heavy financial penality to people not following law, then others will get a lesson from them and will have no choice then to follow the rules. Moreover, ministries should also give the color coding to the different categories of waste, thus to initiate the segrigation before disposal of waste. This will help the companies, who are dealing with waste disposal and its recycling, to deal with the particular type of waste safely. Hence, surely, laws will engander fear among people, which will force them to recycle the waste.

Along with laws, education can be seen as long- term solution to increase recycling. Government can organize some television shows or create some short videos featuring some famous celebrities, to explain about, how we can reprocess the reusable waste and can get benefits out of that. Likewise, they also can start some campaign with an alluring slogan to generate self motivation among people to reprocess the waste. Consequently, not only the amount of waste will decrease, if the laws and education will be strictly in effect, but also recycling will become a habit of people.

To sum up, stringent rules and spread of knowledge has a likelihood to change the practices of people dealing with the domestic waste.