Some people could be naturally good leaders. Others believe that people can learn leadership skills. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A debate has been growing recently over whether leadership is an innate trait or a skill that is acquired through learning. In my estimation, being a leader is a skill that can be learned through extensive training.

Firstly, it is reasonable to assume that leadership is sometimes innate. Individuals can be born with certain qualities that are predictive of a good leader such as bravery, strategic intelligence and self-confidence. These traits can be passed down along a long lineage of successful leaders from one generation to the next. This is evident in how Henry Ford II presided over the Ford Motor Company after his father did. Like his father, he was both tenacious and intelligent in guiding the company to long-term success by pursuing aggressive and forward-thinking strategies in innovating Ford’s automotive technology. Thus it is understandable why some would contend leadership can be acquired inherently.

However, a more persuasive case can be made for leadership as a learned quality. Individuals can become leaders in a disciplined environment through the process of training, practice and hands-on experience over time. For instance, numerous reputed educational institutions throughout the world administer leadership programs for those wanting to gain the required skill set to become effective leaders. Within those programs there are courses intended to cover the necessary aspects of leadership such as management, problem solving, implementation of strategy and decision making. In addition, some of these programs include practical experience, where protégés can learn from current leaders about what it takes to take charge.

To conclude, while it is fair to assume that some are born with the qualities of a good leader, I would assert that leadership skills can be gained through education and experience in a structured environment.