Some people find advertisements amusing or annoying and they are not influenced by this when they shop. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people may be amused or bothered by advertising and it does not support when they are shopping. Personally, I disagree with the notion because I believe that ads produce certain effects on people's buying behavior whether they are implicit or explicit.

The impacts of advert on consumers may be unclear but people are yet effected by the marketing channel. There are different roles of advertising can play depends on strategy of businesses. To illustrate, some companies want to open new business in other regions or nations, thereby their adverts are often used to promote the company's images including names, logos, or slogan. In this sense, it is not to selling products but introducing their companies is more significant to these firms. Secondly, ads can be used for raising awareness of customer over a certain range of products. Customer may not make the purchase bacause of the content of the ad. However, they will become familiar with the goods or services, thus it could steadily impact their buying behavior which favor the offerings advertised.

By contrast, if there are no advertising campaigns or uneffective ones launched along with merchandise, the sales of them may be impacted. This stems from the fact that buyers tend to avoid commodities and services which are unfamiliar to them. Thus, it would subsequently results in less purchases made by targeted customers. In addition to this, low quality advertising may jeopardises lives of new products or even reputation of organisations. This is especially the case for Hermes, an extravagant fashion brand name, which wrongly depicted the customs of the Chinese people and faced boycott all over the country. Therefore, it is fair to say that the role of decent ads is crutial to the success of firms.

In sum, even though the affects of adverts may not be transparent from patron's angle, they still mitigate or encourage the purchases of people. Besides, reckless marketing programmes would have detrimental impacts on companies. Because of these, it is absurd to think that the marketing tool is useless.