Some people suggest that the government should spend money putting more works of art like paintings and statues into towns and cities to make them attractive places.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals contend that governments should allocate expenditures on decorating cities with more artistic works and statues to make those areas more luxurious. Personally, I partly agree with this school of thought due to the following elaborations.

There are some reasons for the notion that metropolitan areas can increasingly become attractive with statues and works of art. Admittedly, individuals often associate a fascinating destination with colorful and picturesque sites, beautifying the landscape. As the government invest more money in decorating metropolises with colourful paintings and unique statues, such areas can attract numerous international and domestic tourists. For instance, the capital of Vietnam refurbished several streets with ceramic paintings in 2010 to celebrate its 1000th anniversary of foundation, drawing the attention of substantial tourists across the globe and contributing to increased revenues for the city.

Nevertheless, there are other ways to make towns and cities more decorative and wonderful. Specifically, the government should divert the national budget to enhance the public transport system. As cities are equipped with an interconnected public transport network, commuting in a high-density metropolis has become easier than ever, facilitating the development of tourism and trade activities. China, for example, has developed to become the second world’s largest economy due to its priorities on building a modern public transport system and interconnected road network.

In conclusion, although some claim that paintings and statues can beautify cities and towns, I partly agree with this school of thought. The decoration of cities with such works of art can not remain permanently due to the effects of erratic weather changes. Only with long-term schemes, such as the construction of a subway or improving road infrastructure, can cities appear more attractive.