Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car on motorbike to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Incessantly increase in road accidents has become a matter of great concern in this jet age of 21st century. presently, some proportion of masses asset that enhancing minimum permissible age for driving is a lucrative panacea to mitigate the problem of road accidents. My view points are not at the same wavelength and I shall portray my perspective in the subsequent paragraphs.

The predominant factor behind the increasing figures of road mishappenings is lack of concentration while driving a car or motorbike. To demonstrate, phone calls, messages, notifications and listening music while driving act as stumbling block for people to focus on driving and thus leads to road accidents. Moreover, substandard roads, which will be easily degraded contribute remarkably to give birth to road mishappenings. Thence, the idea of increasing minimum age for driving vehicle does not deserve appreciation as there are other factors which are more responsible for road accidents.

Probing ahead, consumption of alcohol and drugs is liable behind this phenomenon. To elucidate, the report of National Crime Records Bureau on accidental death and suicides in India suggest that about 1.5% of road accidents are caused by drunken driving. It is clearly known that driving age in all countries is maximum as compared to minimum legal age for driving. Hence, there is no correlation between road accidents and age factor. Besides this, another reason behind road mishappenings is lack of strict punishment for careless drivers so, there is a need for higher authorities to implement vigorous rules and regulations to ensure road safety instead of accelerated minimum age limit for driving.

According to the points aforementioned above, it is clear that unlike upsurging minimum permissible age for driving, liable measures must be taken by regime to focus on other factors which are responsible for road accidents to ensure your safety.