Some people think that everyone has the right to have access to university education,
and that government should make it free for all students no matter what financial
background they have. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?
It is unquestionable that every citizen has equal opportunities to follow higher education.
I believe that the government should allow students to attend university free of charge.
However, I disagree with the policy of providing free higher education for all students
regardless of their financial background.
Supplying free tertiary education for students is a sensible national investment. Numerous
students, if not obliged to pay tuition fees can afford to cover their living costs;
thereby concentrating on academic performance or cultivate their professional skills.
Therefore, they may be well qualified for future employment. Additionally, university
graduates who have received governmental grants for all university tuition fees can
become productive citizens contributing to social betterment. More specifically, after
graduation from university, some graduates may become loyal and strong-willed
soldiers who could ensure national security and sovereignty or teachers serving to
raising people’s intellectual levels and shaping young generations’ behavioral patterns.
However, I oppose the idea of providing tuition fees subsidies for all students irrespective
of whether they are rich or poor. Several learners who live in poverty are entitled to free
tertiary education although they have no desire to enrich academic knowledge or
professional skills. In this case, this policy proves to be a waste of money. Another
explanation is that no sooner do national leaders pay all tuition fees for university
education than there is high likelihood of a deficiency in state budget for community
health services or public transport services which also require a huge amount of fund
investment from the government for the benefits of the whole society.
In conclusion, in my view, there are several benefits of free education at university level.
However, I disapprove that all students have free higher education opportunities no
matter how rich or poor they are.