Some people think that getting old is a negative thing, whereas others think it is much easier for people to live in modern society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Aging with time is a natural process of humanity. As people get older, the advancements and developments of society become more explicit, forcing these individuals to keep pace with the modernization of the world. As a result, stances are indicating that getting old offers little benefits, whereas others believe this can be advantageous for the elderly living in this digitally integrated society. In this essay, both facets of the situation will be elucidated before drawing any further conclusion.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that elderly people may receive more care and support when going out in the public. To cite an example, in many urban areas nowadays, specifically during peak hours when there are high possibilities of congestion, people of old age might receive assistance in crossing the street more than younger ones. Another prominent example is that when commuting on public transports like buses, the elder commuters will have the privilege of being offered a seat, which may do wonders for their general well-being. By shedding light on these examples, it is crystal clear that people can have more advantages when utilizing public transport and accommodation on the account of being old.

On the other hand, aging is also synonymous with being more prone to illnesses and diseases. To specify, the closer people reach older adulthood, the worse their immune system becomes. Courtesy of these drastic changes within their body, combining with stratospherically high levels of pollution in public places, the seniors of society may have to run up against a host of health problems like cancer or bones fragility, which could lead to fatality if there is no provision of healthcare and special treatment. Furthermore, living in this digitalized world can be difficult for old people by virtue of staying up-to-date with technological advancements. This is not an easy task for the elderly, especially those who used to live in the era of poverty and impoverishment when prevalent recreational activities were reading books and playing chess rather than interacting with others through add-ons and applications.

In conclusion, notwithstanding the privilege the elderly may have when commuting on buses, from a broader viewpoint, these persons indeed have to face up with a wider range of health problems and inabilities of adapting to modern life than adults and youngsters. Therefore, I believe that negative facets of this have eclipsed the benefits it brings. All things considered, it is believed that more healthcare and insurance should be given to these people to help them to live a better life in the modern era.