Some people think that instead of preventing climate change, we need to find a way to live with it. To
what extent do you agree or disagree?
Climate change represents a major threat to life on Earth, but some people argue that we need to accept it
rather than try to stop it. I completely disagree with this opinion, because I believe that we still have time
to tackle this issue and reduce the human impact on the Earth's climate.
There are various measures that governments and individuals could take to prevent, or at least mitigate,
climate change. Governments could introduce laws to limit the carbon dioxide emissions that lead to
global warming. They could impose “green taxes” on drivers, airline companies and other polluters, and
they could invest in renewable energy production from solar, wind or water power. As individuals, we
should also try to limit our contribution to climate change, by becoming more energy efficient, by flying
less, and by using bicycles and public transport. Furthermore, the public can affect the actions of
governments by voting for politicians who propose to tackle climate change, rather than for those who
would prefer to ignore it.
If instead of taking the above measures we simply try to live with climate change, I believe that the
consequences will be disastrous. To give just one example, I am not optimistic that we would be able to
cope with even a small rise in sea levels. Millions of people would be displaced by flooding, particularly in
countries that do not have the means to safeguard low-lying areas. These people would lose their homes
and their jobs, and they would be forced to migrate to nearby cities or perhaps to other countries. The
potential for human suffering would be huge, and it is likely that we would see outbreaks of disease and
famine, as well as increased homelessness and poverty.
In conclusion, it is clear to me that we must address the problem of climate change, and I disagree with
those who argue that we can find ways to live with it.