Some people think that international news is more important than local news. Others argue that local news is more important. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

As modern communication technologies grow, access to the news becomes easier. People are no longer limited to the articles describing regional events but can access reports from all over the world. Some belive that local information is the most important one; others argue that awareness of the international ones is more valuable. In my opinion, local news, as the one impacting individuals directly, should play a critical role.

On the one side, international news provide information about global issues, therefore help people understand their own country's position on the world scene. It creates a global awareness of main issues like an environment, wars, humanitarian crisis. It helps people support other nations causes, for example, donations received from all around the world to Haiti Relief Fund after the country suffered a devastating earthquake.

On another side, people are most affected by events local to them, happening in their neighbourhood. Awareness of this type of news helps individuals take actions appropriate to what is going on around them but also to react to any planned changes. For example, knowledge of intended road closure might be extremely valuable while planning daily commute.

In my opinion, while it is useful to have some awareness regarding International events, the local news are the most important. They are the ones that have the highest chance of affecting everyday's lives of people. Furthermore, information about foreign wars and cataclysms might cause unnecessary anxiety. It has been observed recently, when Covid-19 pandemic was reported. Poland had had hardly any cases and the government had been managing situation well but the spread of the world news regarding coronavirus caused a mass-hysteria and unnecessary panic.

In conclusion, I belive that local news are more important than international ones, as they are the one that have a capacity of affecting people's lives immediately.