Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Environmental problems have caused a major concern over the last few decades, and a variety of solutions is being proposed in order to tackle them. Some people suggest that the solution is to raise the prices of fuel for cars and other means of transportation. I think, this will not help to improve the situation, as it will probably help to deal with air pollution only, but not other issues, like water pollution or ozone depletion.

One of the reasons why I disagree with this view is that the transportation system or cars that we tend to use on a daily basis is not the only source of air pollution. Factories and even households all around the world are seemed to produce more carbon dioxide than cars. Countries, like China and the USA contribute to the largest proportion of greenhouse gas emissions, and this does not include cars.

Moreover, air pollution is not the only problem threatening the environment. Take water pollution or ozone layer depletion as an example. Millions of tonnes of toxic waste is dumped into oceans and hundreds of rocket launches are carried out annually, which harm already fragile ecosystem. These issues have nothing to do with cars, and high cost of fuel cannot solve them.

On the other hand, there are some people who argue that this measure is likely to succeed. They hold the view that providing people use their cars or other types of transport less than they do today, environmental problems will be solved, as cars are responsible for air pollution to some extent.

To conclude, even though using cars is one of the contributors of air pollution, and raising the cost of fuel is likely to solve the issue, I argue that this solution is not convincing enough to solve all the problems of the environment.