Some people think that printed newspapers are the best way to learn the news. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media Discuss both views and give your opinion?

A school of thought holds that the most effective method to keep well-informed about current affairs is to read traditional newspaper articles, whereas the alternative stance asserts that it is better to get news from other types of mass media. This essay aims to analyze both opinions and then explain why I agree with the latter view.

Many individuals support the former point of view for a combination of reasons. First and foremost, the huge advantage of conventional publications is that they provide people with accurate and reliable information, which can protect readers from fake news that may lead to their faulty thinking. To illustrate, in Vietnam, the news is ensured to be factual before being published thanks to the rigorous verification of professional editors. Furthermore, if citizens learn news from traditional newspapers, they may not be bothered by various advertisements displayed in form of videos or big pictures that can distract them from other serious issues such as the job market or government politicians.

On the other hand, advocates of the former opinion point out a host of reasons. The main point is the convenience of alternative types of media. Nowadays, with access to the internet or cable televisions, the news is broadcast 24 hours a day, which paves the way for people to take in up-to-date information at any time of day or night, no matter where they are. Furthermore, they can get diverse news in a variety of fields from all parts of the world just with several clicks. Keeping abreast of events with other media, therefore, is not only economical but also environmentally friendly because people do not need to pay for newspaper subscriptions and the number of trees being cut for producing papers is dropped. Last but not least, since news released on other platforms is hands-on and lively, learners would have deeper insights into what is happened. Citizens in Vietnam, for instance, have been made fully aware of the disastrous repercussions of the pandemic Covid-19 through real pictures and live videos, which are conducive to raise their awareness of potential dangers and how to protect themselves.

In conclusion, both methods have tremendous merits. However, the other media’s benefits outweigh that of printed newspapers thereby alternative platforms are more effective vehicles for people to update news.