Some people think that technology is now an invaluable study tool for young people. Others, however, believe that it is harmful for the studying process. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Many a person hold the opinion that technology exerts negative effects on youngsters’ studying process now. Nonetheless, this is contradicted by other people, myself included, who espouse the notion that technology has been positively impacting on their learning. These two opposing perspectives will be clarified below.

On the one hand, there are a number of different explanations to be taken into account as to why it is detrimental to students to depend on technology to support their study now. For one thing, this might result in learners becoming more and more passive in their learning. By and large, students are not encouraged to memorize and apply what they have been taught at school on the grounds that they are totally able to search everything to do their assignments on the Internet within a few minutes. For another, the fact that there are a large number of harmful information sources on the Internet relating to sex, racial discrimination, fake news and violence deserves consideration. A lot of youngsters easily access them to indulge their curiosity without an effective method of protection from adults, with the result that they usually tend to have acts of violence and misbehaviours nowadays.

On the other hand, it is my contention that technology is a supportive tool for teenagers for several reasons. To begin with, granted that thanks to technology, all human knowledge is collected and published in public for education and scientific research of the community, students can search a great deal of valuable knowledge to serve their learning. Another important factor for this is students can take full advantage of technology to get online learning instead of offline one in cases of pandemics, natural disasters. Given the fact that there are more opportunities for students to keep learning without being limited by any obstacles like weather and distance, general and higher education is more likely to be delivered to students in remote areas.

In conclusion, I take the position that while to some extent technology has its shortcomings, it is also an indispensable tool to support students’ learning for the reasons mentioned above.