Some people regard video games as harmless fun, or even as a useful educational tool. Others, however, believe that video games are having an adverse effect on the people who play them. In your opinion, do the drawbacks of video games outweigh the benefits?

Video games are assumed to be not only an innocuous pastime but also a beneficial tool for educational purposes. Nonetheless, this is contradicted by other people who espouse the notion that video games are detrimental to players. This essay is aimed at weighing the merits and demerits of this issue prior to arriving at a firm conclusion.

There are a number of different drawbacks to be taken into account when it comes to many game addicts, including youngsters, indulging in wasting all their time in a day playing video games instead of utilizing it for other meaningful activities. To begin with, this actual situation might result in addiction to video games. By and large, gamers are lured by fascinations of video games on the ground(s) that game designers have been striving to develop more and more versions of new games based on interests and characteristics of the youth. Also, the fact that video games have proven deleterious effects on a child’s development deserves consideration. Players’ eyes are glued to the screen of computers and smartphones for a long period of time, with the result that they often easily become short-sighted and obese/overweight due to a lack of exercise.

It is likewise worth mentioning several benefits of this issue. Granted that video games are delivered appropriately by the age of gamers, they are highly esteemed as a safe amusement for children. Another major merit is video games assist children in advancing their linguistic intelligence and reflection competence. Given the fact that players are practically required to combine the interaction of their eyes, ears, hands and brain to conquer game challenges, this intentional interaction can foster the growth of children. What is more, video games are prevalently applied for educational purposes these days like learning foreign languages, mathematics and many other subjects.

In view of the aforementioned discussion, I take the position that the benefits of this issue far outweigh the drawbacks.