Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

The chief aim of universities have become recently to provide graduates with information as well as skills which are highly required in the workplace. Although ,not everyone agrees with this idea claiming that the true function of universities is to give knowledge regardless the benefits of it to an employers. Personally, I agree with former idea relying on the following reasons.

On the one hand, over the last decade there has been a highly competition among graduates to engage into the career’s market. Civil engineers particularly a good example for this, when civil engineers became familiar which are highly required such AutoCad ,Etbas and MS projects, resulting on knowing these programs directly to considerable performance rise as well as give extra opportunity to get a job due to the high demands of engineers with knowledge related to their jobs. Thus, applying these programs in education system could lead to improvement in performance rate as well as preparing a qualified engineers for a certain job.

On the other hand, it may be claimed that, universities is place for variety of knowledge which prepare graduates to cope with various life's problems not specifically their specializations. For example, superior countries such as UK and USA its education entails variety of subjects unrelated to students future workplace which are extremely helpful such as languages course and cooking course .Therefore, if graduates had taught only its subjects, they would have missed lots of basis as well as could not deal with society perfectly.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that it is extremely necessary to access knowledge and skills which are highly beneficial as well as related to job field rather than unhelpful extra information.