Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of wether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Since the universities opened, many people supposed that its function is provide diversity of the knowledge and skill which graduates will need for their future career. But others agues that universities is just a place that student come for study reason only. Personally, I am standing on the side of providing knowledge in colleges should be practical in the workplace.

On the one hand, it is believe that student should learn in more much different field which help them broaden horizon instead of it can be used or not . Having said that, student will have understanding in many aspects. Otherwise, it is considered as a reason led to high unemployment rate. Take Vietnam for example, this country are facing a great number of graduates unemployed. Because they only taught what is written in books and those knowledge become useless when they went to work. What is the purpose of knowledge when it can not help the learner? Then time and money for education would be waste.

On other hand, it is clearly that student attend university for not only higher education but also to be prepared for their better future job. And this is the way out for former example, If only in Vietnam pay more attention in teaching necessary skills or to be an expert in a field rather than cram an enormous knowledge which impractical. Obviously, Denmark has done well when they applied tax calculation in Maths and others subjects.

Admittedly, there are merits to both arguments. As far as I concerned, knowledge which obtained by students is for one aim is prepare for a better life. It hard to say that which knowledge is useful or not because we all know it can bring benefit in different aspects not a special ones.