Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer.

What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Whether a university should focus on imparting the knowledge and skills required in students' future careers is a controversial topic. Some people contend that it is important for students to receive instructions on working skills and knowledge, while others opine that a university should allow its students to have access to knowledge other than skills required by employers. In my view, teaching students job skills and imparting common knowledge are both required in the curriculum of a university.

Students who acquire more knowledge and skills on future working are more likely to develop a successful career. For example, many universities now offer a bunch of English classes and workshops aiming to enhance students' English skills. In this way, students can be more qualified for future careers, as most companies nowadays have international businesses and they prefer to hire staff with proficient English aptitude. Thus, opening more courses on subjects relating to job skills certainly increases students' competitiveness in the job market.

However, a university should not underestimate the importance of other subjects which are not pertinent to working knowledge. For example, artistic courses like painting , singing and dancing should be included in the curriculum. Students with the ability to enjoy and create art are more likely to enjoy their everyday lives, as artworks can assuage people's pressure from work and help them discover the beauty in lives. Therefore, a university needs to provide students with more artistic classes which help to cultivate their minds and change their attitudes to the positive towards lives.

In sum, because of the fierce competition of modern society, a university is responsible to offer students more job skills relating courses. In the meantime, opening more artistic classes is another effective way to impart knowledge about how to enjoy their lives with the help of art.