“Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.”

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people argue, whether wild animals should be in the jungle or protected in zoos. This essay will discuss both views about, whether if animals should preserved in cages nor left in the jungles. As far as I am concerned, animals should be liberated in their natural state and undoubtedly zoos should be shut down.

Nevertheless, majority of people consider zoos by some means to be beneficial. First of all, zoos help in preserving endangered animals by keeping them safe from environmental and humans’ threats, as habitat destruction and the spread of urbanization. There are breeding programs administrated by zoos to raise the numbers of endangered species and avoid them from becoming extinct. Secondly, people can learn and understand more about them, by keeping animals in zoos, this also can help in raising awareness amongst public in order to help maintaining several species from extinction.

On the other hand, while the abovementioned may be true to a some extent, zoos are not necessarily for animals safety, but more likely of an economical fraud. Poaching endangered animals and keeping them in zoos, will encourage people to buy expensive zoo tickets to come catch sight of these rare animals, which will ironically reflect on the economical income. To add up, zoos can only hold a small capacity of animals unlike nature, as a result they cannot prevent the habitats from being destroyed. I believe that this responsibility lays on the shoulder of government to create funding programs in order to stop the destruction of habitats of endangered species, so that these animals can live their natural state rather than being looked up in cages. Furthermore, mostly in zoos animals are mistreated and tortured, without enough food supply and medical care, not to mention that annually there are insignificant numbers of animals in zoos die from starvation and diseases.

To conclude, despite that some zoos have positive impacts on protecting some endangered species, all-inclusive, I believe they are cruel places for these compassionate creatures and cause them nothing but harm.